Friday, August 24, 2012

179. Curtis Mayfield The Anthology. Do it the Curtisy of a good listen.

Album: Curtis Mayfield and the Ipressions Anthology
Artist: Curtis Mayfield and the Impressions
Genre: Soul
Year: 1992

  1. Gypsy Woman
  2. Grow Closer Together
  3. Never Let Me Go
  4. Little Young Lover
  5. Minstrel and Queen
  6. I'm the One Who Loves You
  7. Sad Sad Girl and Boy
  8. It's All Right
  9. Talking About My Baby
  10. I'm So Proud
  11. Keep on Pushing
  12. You Must Believe Me
  13. See the Real Me
  14. Amen
  15. I've Been Trying
  16. People Get Ready
  17. It's Hard to Believe
  18. Woman's Got Soul
  19. Meeting Over Yonder
  20. I Need You
  21. You've Been Cheatin'
  22. Man Oh Man
  23. Can't Satisfy
  24. We're a Winner
  25. I Loved and I Lost
  26. We're Rolling On (Part One)

  1. Fool For You
  2. This is My Country
  3. Choice of Colors
  4. Check Out Your Mind
  5. Move On Up
  6. (Don't Worry) If There's a Hell Below, We're All Going to Go
  7. The Makings of You
  8. Beautiful Brother of Mine
  9. Freddie's Dead
  10. Superfly
  11. Pusherman
  12. So In Love
  13. Only You Babe
  14. Do Do Wap is Strong in Here

Firstly I have to apologise if you find this disapointing but The Impressions are a band and not a collection of impersonations that Curtis Mayfield does. If you thought Curtis Mayfield and the Impressions was going to be a laugh-filled hour of Curtis doing John Wayne and Groucho Marx then this is not the album for you.

The good news is that Mayfield is capable of doing musical genre impressions and mastering them all. He can handle soul, gospel, ballads and funk and has lent his outstanding voice to songs as wholesome as People Get Ready and as downright dirty as Superfly.

Unlike a lot of other great Soul Singers, Mayfield's voice is higher in the register which gives him a distinctive sound. But like his contemporaries he knew how to use his voice as an instrument. Listening to him sing is like having your brain licked into a happy state. I defy anyone, even the most ardent and militant atheist, to listen to People Get Ready and not think it's a slice of beauty and pop perfection. I frequently rail annoyingly against over production and unnecessary instrumentation but there's nothing I could imagine doing to to change this small slice of musical perfection

Curtis Mayfield was a massive talent and this is one of those compilations which does a brilliant job of showcasing every aspect of the artist's ability. It's a joy.

Highlight: People Get Ready
Lowlight: Meeting over Yonder

Influenced by: Shifting genres
Influenced: Michael Jackson.

Favourite Amazon Customer Review Quote: "My only complaint about this anthology is that it's lacking a third disc."

-I can understand how that would be a legitimate complaint.

So what's your impression? Let me know below.

1 comment:

  1. How much good Soul/Funk music have we had on the countdown so far?. Wow these guys and gals could sing. Great arrangements/production on great songs. And dont forget Psychedelic Soul .